Legal Information

Community Resources
Databases

Academic OneFile

Full-text articles from over 8,000 leading journals and reference sources

Gale LegalForms

Editable business and personal forms in Word format, attorney directory, and a law digest. Continuously updated to reflect current state laws.

LegalTrac

Articles in major law reviews, law journals, and legal newspapers, some in full text

Newspapers & Magazines
Websites

Changes and Choices: Legal Rights of Senior Adults

Online (.pdf) version of the state "Changes and Choices" publication
 

Consumer Protection Resource Guides

Online (.pdf) version of the state "Consumer Protection Resource Guide" publiction
 

Federal Government Resources on the Web

 Provided by University of Michigan Documents Center.

Federal Law

Created by Cornell University's Legal Information Institute. Contains the U.S. Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, and decisions from the Supreme Court and Courts of Appeals.

FindLaw

Online resource for finding lawyers, answers to legal questions, and legal forms.

GPO Access

A service of the Government Printing Office, GPO Access is a collection of major sources, full text, including the budget; Code of Federal Regulations and Federal Register; Commerce Business Daily; congressional bills, calendars, directories, hearings, prints, reports, the Congressional Record, and other materials; Economic Indicators and President's Economic Report; General Accounting Office reports; selected administrative agency decisions; Supreme Court opinions; and U.S. Code and session laws.

lexisONE

Federal and state case law from the last 5 years (free, with registration required)

MeL Legal

Michigan eLibrary Guide to Legal Resources
 

Michigan Legal Help

The Michigan Legal Help website was created to help people who have to handle simple civil legal problems without a lawyer. There are articles you can read to learn about a specific area of the law and toolkits to help you prepare to represent yourself in court. Some forms are completed automatically once you answer simple questions. The Michigan Legal Help website does not provide legal advice, and it is not a substitute for having a lawyer.
 

Michigan State Legislature Website

A free service of the Michigan Legislative Council, the Michigan House of Representatives, and the Michigan Senate. Search Legislative Bills, Michigan Compiled Laws, and other Legislature activities.

Michigan's Friend of the Court: Support, Custody, and Visitation for Michigan Children

Online (.pdf) version of the state "Friend of Court" publication
 

Tenants and Landlords: A Practical Guide

Online version of the state "Tenants and Landlords: A Practical Guide" publication
 

THOMAS

From the Library of Congress, THOMAS is a collection of legislative resources, including bills, bill status, committee reports and websites, the Congressional Record, Presidential nominations, treaties, and other material.

U.S. Constitution: Analysis and Interpretation

By the Congressional Research Service from GPO Access: searchable, includes discussion and references to significant cases.

USA.gov

The federal government's portal to information and services, also including state, local, and tribal governments.

Wills and Estate Planning: Planning for Peace of Mind

Online (.pdf) version of the state "Planning for Peace of Mind" publication: A Do-It-Yourself Guide to Medical and Legal Decisions