Books & Reading

Community Resources
Databases

EBSCO eBooks

Formerly the NetLibrary ebooks collection, containing full text of 20,000+ books on all subjects

MeL: Books & Reading Gateway

The MeL Books and Reading Gateway includes links to many popular resources, including Bartleby's, Library Thing, Michigan Authors, Michigan Notable Books, What's Next? and MeLCat.  MeLCat  is a database of holdings in participating libaries around the State of Michigan. Order books, audio books, music, movies and other materials delivered to your participating library by using the MeLCAT tab in the YDL catalog or go directly to www.mel.org.

NoveList K-8 Plus

NoveList K-8 Plus

Find just the right book by subject, age, awards won, Lexile Reading levels, Common Core standards; even books made into movies, and much more. Read reviews and learn about the author. Create your own reading wish list. 

Overdrive

Download audiobooks and books to your computer, listening device, or eReader. Click here for more information on this service.

WorldCat

A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide

Newspapers & Magazines
Websites

Book Group Buzz

Updated a few times a week,by Readers' Advisory librarians/ book club specialists this is a blog writing about how to find good books, giving tips on running a discussion, and reviewing authors and titles of interest.
 

BookPage - America's Book Review

BookPage is a monthly book review publication distributed to more than 450,000 avid readers.  Founded in 1988 and located in Nashville, TN, BookPage serves as a broad-based selection guide to the best new books published every month. Pick up your free copy of BookPage at any Ypsilanti District Library branch. 

Cozy-Mystery.com

Are you a cozy-mystery fan?  Then this website is for you.  Alphabetically lists authors and series in reading order, by theme, plus new releases, awards,  and a blog for reader reviews and input.
 

Fantastic Fiction

Bibliographies for over 30,000 authors: use the browse menu to find an author by surname, or use the search boxes to search for an author or book.  Fantastic Fiction is a great site to use for researching books in series. 
Information on over 350,000 books:Throughout the site, just click on a book to see its cover picture, description and publication details.

Goodreads

 Goodreads is the largest site for readers and book recommendations in the world. The site has more than 10,000,000 members who have added more than 350,000,000 books to their shelves. A home for casual readers and bona-fide bookworms alike, Goodreads users recommend books, compare what they are reading, keep track of what they've read and would like to read, find their next favorite book, form book clubs and much more. Goodreads was launched in January 2007.

 

IndieBound Next List

The monthly Indiebound Next List is a monthly watch-list of titles bound to be bestsellers. Also check out the Indie Bestseller Lists which are most current snapshot of what’s selling in independent bookstores nationwide. The site includes archives and a bookstore locator.

NPR Books

National Public Radio’s staff reviews, author interviews, bestseller lists, recommendations; links to podcasts, blogs, newsletters  and RSS feeds.

Reading Group Guides

Reading Group Guides

Featuring more than 3.000 guides from across all different publishers, there are plenty of fiction and nonfiction categories to choose from. The best part? The "What to Do When There's No Guide Available" section, with generic questions for just about any type of book.
 

Stop, You're Killing Me!

 A website to die for...if you love mysteries.  A resource for lovers of mystery, crime, thriller, spy, and suspense books.  Can't stand to read books out of order? Over 3, 200 authors with chronological lists of their books, both series and non-series.  Not sure what to read next? Special indexes such as award-winning, historical periods, job of series characters, location and read-alikes will help you find the perfect book.  Also check out the What's New section to keep up on the publication dates of the latest books.

The Neglected Books Page

Here you'll find lists of thousands of books that have been neglected, overlooked, forgotten, or stranded by changing tides in critical or popular taste.

What's Next? Books in Series

Search by author, title or series name to find information on both youth and adult books in series. Also search by genre (chapter books, general fiction, horror, inspirational, mystery, romance science fiction, western plus juvenile fiction and nonfiction and teen books).  You will be able to print the list of books for your personal use. The What's Next Books in Series Database is maintained by Kent District Library.