Reference Databases

A.P. Marshall African American Oral History Archive

In the 1980's, Ypsilanti historian A.P. Marshall sought to preserve stories of Ypsilanti residents who lived through the Jim Crow era, fought racism during WWII, and led the local Civil Rights movement. The Ypsilanti District Library partnered with the African American Cultural and Historical Museum of Washtenaw County (AACHM) to digitize these interviews and publish them online. 

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports is the next best thing to trying before you buy. Read reviews of automobiles, appliances, electronics, and more. 

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

This site provides access to the online version of World Book Encyclopedia in Spanish.

Gale LegalForms

Editable business and personal forms in Word format, attorney directory, and a law digest. Continuously updated to reflect current state laws.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Full text of 67 reference titles covering science, medicine, history, multiculturalism, biography, business, politics, law, and other topics

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Provides multiple perspectives on controversial issues

World Book Online

In addition to the online version of World Book, this site also provides access to World Book Kids as well as a Spanish Language Version

Staff Recommendations

Graphic women : life narrative and contemporary comicsBy Chute, Hillary L.
Hillary Chute explores the verbal and visual techniques of Aline Kominsky-Crumb, Lynda Barry, Marjane Satrapi, Alison Bechdel, and Phoebe Gloeckner: these five cartoonists move the art of autobiography and graphic storytelling in new directions, particularly through the depiction of sex, gender and lived experience.
View in catalog