Databases By Topic

Books & Literature
EBSCO eBooks

Formerly the NetLibrary ebooks collection, containing full text of 20,000+ books on all subjects

Hoopla

Download movies, television shows, music, comic books, ebooks, and eaudiobooks to your laptop or mobile device. Create a free login with your library card and PIN number.

MeL: Books & Reading Gateway

The MeL Books and Reading Gateway includes links to many popular resources, including Bartleby's, Library Thing, Michigan Authors, Michigan Notable Books, What's Next? and MeLCat.  MeLCat  is a database of holdings in participating libaries around the State of Michigan. Order books, audio books, music, movies and other materials delivered to your participating library by using the MeLCAT tab in the YDL catalog or go directly to www.mel.org.

Michigan Authors & Illustrators

Database devoted to biographical information about Michigan authors and illustrators.

Overdrive

Download audiobooks and books to your computer, listening device, or eReader. Click here for more information on this service.

WorldCat

A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide

Books & Literature
Kids & Teens
NoveList K-8 Plus

Find just the right book by subject, age, awards won, Lexile Reading levels, Common Core standards; even books made into movies, and much more. Read reviews and learn about the author. Create your own reading wish list. 

Business & Investment
AtoZdatabases

Provides job search, reference, and mailing list data, including 30 million business & executive profiles and 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more! 

Business Insights: Global

Full-text database containing journals, investment reports, and directory information

BusinessDecision

A database, reporting, and mapping service that combines comsumer household, market segmentation, and demographic data with GIS mapping technology.

Demographics Now

Census data combined with business and residential information, resulting in a powerful tool for market analysis and generating mailing lists.

General Business File ASAP

Access to broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

ReferenceUSA

Please note: access to ReferenceUSA has ended. Please try out AtoZdatabases, our replacement product. 

Small Business Resource Center

Sample business plans, how-to guides, articles, and websites for starting, financing, or managing your small business

Value Line Investment Survey

Detailed investment information on over 1,700 stocks

Education & Continuing Education
Basic ESL

Basic ESL improves an individual’s listening, speaking, reading and writing skills through a simple to follow, instructionally proven curriculum. Students learn English quickly and effectively on relevant topics including: family, home, school and many other topics. In each lesson students learn key vocabulary and how to use that vocabulary in conversation. No computer experience is necessary. Click on "Instant  Access" to enter without registering.

Chronicle Career Library

Information on more than 2,000 occupations, including 650 comprehensive occupational descriptions.

LearningExpress Library

LearningExpress Library 3.0 is now available. Users will need to create a new account on this site. Interactive practice exams including ACT, ASVAB, SAT, civil service, and citizenship. 

Mango Languages

Create a free account and start learning one of over 40 different languages! Lessons include vocabulary, grammar, and multimedia components. A mobile app is available for iPhone & Android.

Michigan Activity Pass

The Michigan Activity Pass (MAP) presented by The Library Network (TLN) is a statewide partnership that offers enhanced access to recreational, arts, and cultural organizations in Michigan. MAP is an online program.

Education & Continuing Education
Kids & Teens
Tutor.com

Get live homework help from 10am-11pm every day of the year! Various test preparation, study, and career resources are always available. Create a free account to use extra features, such as proofreading, editing, and skills assessment.

Genealogy
Ancestry Library Edition

A large collection of materials for genealogy research

HeritageQuest Online

Search census records, family and local history books, and millions of genealogy articles and records

MeL Michigana

Explore Michigan history with photographs, diaries, oral histories, local records, and historical data

Health & Medicine
Health & Wellness Resource Center

Articles from nearly 400 health/medical journals plus 2,200 general interest periodicals; also includes hundreds of pamphlets and videos

Health Reference Center Academic

Mostly full-text access to professional and personal health magazines, journals, and reference sources

Medline Plus

Interactive tutorials, doctors & hospitals, clinical trials, senior health, surgery videos and more

Kids & Teens
BookFlix

An interactive experience that allows beginning readers to explore fiction and non-fiction designed to increase understanding and fluency. Increase comprehension and have fun at the same time!

InfoTrac Junior Edition

Magazines, reference books, images, and maps for junior high and middle school students

InfoTrac Student Edition

Newspapers, reference books, magazines, illustrations, and maps for high school students

Kids InfoBits

Magazine and newspaper articles plus reference books for grades K-6

Muzzy

Children learn new languages through lessons, movies, and games in this award-winning database. Languages available are English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Russian, Mandarin Chinese, and Portuguese.

Research in Context

Written specifically for middle schoolers, this resource includes the most-studied topics of literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history.

TumbleBook Library

An online collection of animated, talking picture books

Kids & Teens
Reference
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

This site provides access to the online version of World Book Encyclopedia in Spanish.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Provides multiple perspectives on controversial issues

World Book Online

In addition to the online version of World Book, this site also provides access to World Book Kids as well as a Spanish Language Version

Legal Information
Reference
Gale LegalForms

Editable business and personal forms in Word format, attorney directory, and a law digest. Continuously updated to reflect current state laws.

Legal Information
LegalTrac

Articles in major law reviews, law journals, and legal newspapers, some in full text

Magazines & Newspapers
Academic OneFile

Full-text articles from over 8,000 leading journals and reference sources

Expanded Academic ASAP

Mostly full-text articles nearly 5,000 publications covering a wide range of subjects

General OneFile

A large database of full-text news and periodical articles on a wide range of subjects

General Reference Center Gold

Mostly full-text coverage of a wide variety of general interest and business periodicals, reference books, maps, and newspapers

Informe!

Full-text Spanish-language and bilingual publications in both academic and lifestyle spheres, including culture, business, and news

InfoTrac Newsstand

Over 150 full-text U.S. and international newspapers, plus selected articles from more than 300 additional sources

Zinio

Enjoy access to more than 250 popular digital magazines through Zinio. Browse magazines on a computer or download the Zinio app to your mobile device or tablet. Read entire magazines cover-to-cover, including back issues. There are no due dates and no limit on checkouts. 

Reference
Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports is the next best thing to trying before you buy. Read reviews of automobiles, appliances, electronics, and more. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Full text of 67 reference titles covering science, medicine, history, multiculturalism, biography, business, politics, law, and other topics

Science & Technology
Computer Database

More than 2.5 million articles from journals, trade magazines, and popular computing magazines

Staff Recommendations

Same family, different colors : confronting colorism in America's diverse familiesBy Tharps, Lori L.
"...the first book on colorism to take us inside African American, Latino, Asian, and interracial families as they speak candidly about how the politics of skin color shape their family dynamics and lives. Lori Tharp explores this taboo and urgent subject with courage, vision, and great sensitivity." -Michael Eric Dyson (from the cover)
View in catalog