The Witch of Painted Sorrows

The Witch of Painted Sorrows, a supurb supernatural thriller, is Book One of the "Daughters of La Lune" trilogy by bestselling author M. J. Rose. After her father's death, Sandrine runs from an abusive and loveless marriage in NewYork to Paris, the home of her paternal grandmother called Maison de La Lune. Sandrine has been warned that Paris is full of danger for her, but chooses to proceed without caution, to find her true self.  Sandrine unexpectedly becomes an outstanding artist accepted at an exclusive art school, as well as a passionate lover, having met a young architect named Julien Duplessi who works for her grandmother, herself a sophisticated courtesan and salon operator. Eventually Sandrine is convinced that she indeed has been possessed by the spirit of La Lune as madness and murders converge into uncontrollable chaos and a suspenseful conclusion..  Book Two of the trilogy, The Secret Language of Stones, is the story of Opaline Duplessi, the next daughter of La Lune. 

The witch of painted sorrows : a novelBy Rose, M. J., 1953-

"Effortlessly absorbing and richly imagined, with sumptuous detail and spellbinding suspense, The Witch of Painted Sorrows conjures the brilliance and intrigue of Belle Epoque Paris and illuminates the fine line between explosive passion and complete ruination."-jacket

View in catalog

Just In

October/November 2017 New & On Order DVD/Blu-ray
A listing of DVD's and Blu-ray added to the collection in October/November 2017
View in catalog