Fiction Recommendations

Faithful

Faithful : a novelBy Hoffman, Alice
Faithful is the story of a girl and a single moment that changes her forever.... Read more
View in catalog

I We Were Villains

If we were villainsBy Rio, M. L. author.
"Much like Donna Tartt's The Secret History, M. L. Rio's sparkling debut is a richly layered story of love, friendship, and obsession. Expertly plotted, beautifully written, If We Were Villains will keep you riveted through its final, electrifying moments."-cover annotation
View in catalog

Lola

Lola : a novelBy Love, Melissa Scrivner author.
"A propulsive, intensely gripping crime thriller about murder, ambition, and an unforgettable woman unlike anyone else in fiction."-jacket annotation
View in catalog

White Tears

White tearsBy Kunzru, Hari, 1969-
"An indelible portrait of obsession, music, insanity, and race that draws us into a dark underworld of blues record collecting, haunted by the ghosts of a violent past." (Publisher note, book jacket)
View in catalog

Unraveling Oliver

Unraveling Oliver : a novelBy Nugent, Liz, author.
"A psychopath's true face is reflected in a vast hall of mirrors--friends, family, and lovers--in this gripping, original tale. (cover annotation by Erica Ferencik)
View in catalog

The Velveteen Daughter : A Novel

The velveteen daughter : a novelBy Huber, Laurel Davis author.
"The first book to reveal the true story of the woman who wrote The Velveteen Rabbit and her daughter, a world-famous child prodigy artist, (The Velveteen Daughter) explores the consequences of early fame, the effects of mental illness on art and genius, and the inability of a mother to save her daughter from herself." (Publisher annotation)
View in catalog

Afterlife

AfterlifeBy Sakey, Marcus author.
"Ridiculously good...Sakey is the master of the mindful page-turner." cover note from Gillian Flynn " Truly incredible. An epic, original vision. My brain is still bent." cover note from Blake Crouch
View in catalog

When the English Fall

When the English fall : a novelBy Williams, David (David Gerald), 1969-
"When the English Fall takes its place in the landscape of post-collapse survivalist fiction as satisfying as a puzzle piece clicking into a gap. You'll read it and wonder how you never realized it was missing."-cover comment by author Kevin Brockmeier
View in catalog

The Witch of Painted Sorrows

The witch of painted sorrows : a novelBy Rose, M. J., 1953-
"Effortlessly absorbing and richly imagined, with sumptuous detail and spellbinding suspense, The Witch of Painted Sorrows conjures the brilliance and intrigue of Belle Epoque Paris and illuminates the fine line between explosive passion and complete ruination."-jacket
View in catalog

The Mortifications : A Novel

The mortifications : a novelBy Palacio, Derek, 1982-
"Derek Palacio's stunning, mythic novel marks the arrival of a fresh voice and a new chapter in the history of 21st century Cuban-American literature. Breathtaking, soulful, and profound, The Mortifications is an intoxicating family saga and a timely, urgent expression of longing for one's true homeland." PUB
View in catalog

Gwendy's Button Box

Gwendy's button boxBy King, Stephen, 1947- author.
"The novella follows Gwendy through high school and beyond, capturing the golden-hued joy of childhood and the wonder of friendship and first love, all under the shadow of temptation. This bite-size gem of a story packs quite a punch, and the only complaint readers will likely have is that it isn’t longer. " PW Review 4/17
View in catalog

Himself

Himself : a novelBy Kidd, Jess author.
"A rollicking tale of a hero's return...breaking down the barriers between mystery story and comedy of manners, mixing magical realism and crime fiction." -The Guardian (UK)
View in catalog

IQ

IQBy Ide, Joe
"Joe Ide's IQ is a wondrous double helix of mean-street savvy entwined with classical detection, like Conan Doyle as channeled through Martin Scorsese. It's a terrific book".-Stephen Hunter, cover annotation
View in catalog

House of Names

House of names : a novelBy Tóibín, Colm, 1955- author.
"From the thrilling imagination of bestselling, award-winning Colm Toibin comes a retelling of the Greek myth of Agammemnon, Clytemnestra and their children--a spectacularly audacious, violent and riveting story of family and vengeance." [Publisher jacket annotation]
View in catalog

Christodora

Christodora : a novelBy Murphy, Tim, author.
"Murphy has written The Bonfire of the Vanities for the age of AIDS, using the same reportorial skills as Tom Wolfe to re-create the changing decades, complete with a pitch-perfect deployment of period detail...A powerful evocation." -Publishers Weekly, from the jacket... Read more
View in catalog

The Summer Before the War

The summer before the war : a novelBy Simonson, Helen
"This novel is just the ticket for fans of Simonson's debut, Major Pettigrew's Last Stand, and for any reader who enjoys leisurely fiction steeped in the British past." (jacket-Booklist review) "A bright confection of a book morphs into a story of dignity and backbone.....This book is beautifully plotted and morally astute." (jacket-Kirkus review)
View in catalog

The Dark Flood Rises

The dark flood risesBy Drabble, Margaret, 1939-
"A heartfelt rumination on the process of ageing and [the] inevitability of death.....In this novel, the dark flood is death itself, but trust Margaret Drabble to take even the most worrisome of topics and make it witty, relatable and, most importantly, readable". -Rebecca Monks, from the jacket
View in catalog

Celine

Celine : a novel [sound recording]By Heller, Peter, 1959-
"From the bestselling author of The Dog Stars and The Painter, a luminous, masterly novel of suspense--the story of Celine, an elegant, aristocratic private eye who specializes in reuniting families as she tries to make amends for a loss in her own past."--jacket note
View in catalog

Orphan X

Orphan XBy Hurwitz, Gregg Andrew
"Orphan X blows the doors off most thrillers I've read and catapults the readers on a cat-and-mouse chase that feels like a missile launch." -David Baldacci
View in catalog

Just Another Jihadi Jane

Just another Jihadi JaneBy Khair, Tabish,
"Tabish Khair's novel brilliantly engages prejudices and preconceptions and turns them upside down. As did All Quiet on the Western Front, it reminds a new generation that heroism and sacrifice are not limited to one side in a conflict, and that the first victims of a murderous regime are those who live within it." [Jacket]
View in catalog

The Invisible Guardian

The invisible guardian : a novelBy Redondo, Dolores, 1969-
"Myth and reality blend and blur in this sophisticated and razor-sharp thriller. A gritty, fascinating, and compelling story." (Steve Berry, from the cover)
View in catalog

Angel Catbird (2 items)

Angel Catbird By Atwood, Margaret
"A series of all-ages graphic novels about a superhero who is part-bird, part-cat, and suffers an identity crisis because of his conflicting predator/prey status." (Comicsalliance) "A real trip...Half-cat, half-bird, half pulp adventure, and half environmental treatise." (Polygon)
View in catalog

Behold the Dreamers

Behold the dreamers : a novelBy Mbue, Imbolo
"For fans of Americanah and The Lowland comes a debut novel about an immigrant couple striving to get ahead as the Great Recession hits home. With profound empathy, keen insight, and sly wit, Imbolo Mbue has written a compulsively readable story about marriage, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

Tiger's Wife

Award Winners & Bestsellers

Nobel Prize
2015 Prize in Literature
Svetlana Alexievich

National Book Award

2015 Prize for Fiction
Fortune Smiles
by Adam Johnson

2015 Prize for Nonfiction
Between the World and Me
by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Newbery Medal
2016 award
Last Stop on Market Street

by Matt de la Peña

Caldecott Medal
2016 award
Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear
b
y Lindsay Mattick, illustrated by Sophie Blackall

Printz Award

2016 award
Bone Gap

by Laura Ruby

New York Times Fiction Bestsellers (top 5 combined print & e-book sales)
The Last Mile
, by David Baldacci
The Obsession
, by Nora Roberts
Stuck-up Suit, by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward
Bounty, by Kristen Ashley
The Girl on the Train
, by Paula Hawkins
 

New York Times Nonfiction Bestsellers (top 5 combined print & e-book sale)
The Rainbow Comes and Goes, by Anderson Cooper and Gloria Vanderbilt
The Sleep Revolution, by Arianna Huffington
When Breath Becomes Air
, by Paul Kalanithi
Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli Pirates
, by Brian Kilmeade and Don Yaegar
Alexander Hamilton
, by Ron Chernow

 

More Award Winners & Bestsellers

Following is a list of award-winning and bestselling materials from a variety of sources. Links will take you to an external page that will open in a new window. If YDL does not have an item you are interested in, please submit a Materials Suggestion to us.

Academy Awards

American Booksellers Association National Indie Bestsellers

Billboard Top 100 songs

Caldecott Medal

Coretta Scott King Award

New York Times Bestsellers

Newbery Medal

Printz Award