Susan’s Recommendations

Orphan X

Orphan XBy Hurwitz, Gregg Andrew
"Orphan X blows the doors off most thrillers I've read and catapults the readers on a cat-and-mouse chase that feels like a missile launch." -David Baldacci
View in catalog

The Firebrand and the First Lady : Portrait of a Friendship : Pauli Murray, Eleanor Roosevelt, and the Struggle for Social Justice

The firebrand and the First Lady : portrait of a friendship : Pauli Murray, Eleanor Roosevelt, and the struggle for social justiceBy Bell-Scott, Patricia
An important, groundbreaking book--two decades in work--that tells the story of the unlikely but history-changing twenty-eight-year bond forged between Pauli Murray (granddaughter of a mulatto slave, who, against all odds, as a lesbian black woman, became a lawyer, civil rights pioneer, Episcopal priest, poet, and activist) and Eleanor Roosevelt (First Lady of the United States from 1933 to 1948 and human rights internationalist) that critically ... Read more
View in catalog

Just Another Jihadi Jane

Just another Jihadi JaneBy Khair, Tabish,
"Tabish Khair's novel brilliantly engages prejudices and preconceptions and turns them upside down. As did All Quiet on the Western Front, it reminds a new generation that heroism and sacrifice are not limited to one side in a conflict, and that the first victims of a murderous regime are those who live within it." [Jacket]
View in catalog

The Invisible Guardian

The invisible guardian : a novelBy Redondo, Dolores, 1969-
"Myth and reality blend and blur in this sophisticated and razor-sharp thriller. A gritty, fascinating, and compelling story." (Steve Berry, from the cover)
View in catalog

Angel Catbird (2 items)

Angel Catbird By Atwood, Margaret
"A series of all-ages graphic novels about a superhero who is part-bird, part-cat, and suffers an identity crisis because of his conflicting predator/prey status." (Comicsalliance) "A real trip...Half-cat, half-bird, half pulp adventure, and half environmental treatise." (Polygon)
View in catalog

Plant Craft : 30 Projects That Add Natural Style to Your Home

Plant craft : 30 projects that add natural style to your homeBy Atkinson, Caitlin,
Plant Craft features 30 projects inspired by the natural world and made out of live plants, cut flowers, foraged branches, and more. (PUB)
View in catalog

NEW PERSPECTIVES ON RACISM (3 items)

Writings on the wall : searching for a new equality beyond black and whiteBy Abdul-Jabbar, Kareem, 1947-
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar has become a lauded observer of culture and society, a New York Times bestselling author, and a regular contributor to The Washington Post, TIME magazine and TIME.com.He now brings that keen insight to the fore in Writings on the Wall: Searching for a New Equality Beyond Black and White, his most incisive and important work of non-fiction in years.... Read more
View in catalog

Behold the Dreamers

Behold the dreamers : a novelBy Mbue, Imbolo
"For fans of Americanah and The Lowland comes a debut novel about an immigrant couple striving to get ahead as the Great Recession hits home. With profound empathy, keen insight, and sly wit, Imbolo Mbue has written a compulsively readable story about marriage, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

Ghetto : The Invention of a Place, The History of an Idea

Ghetto : the invention of a place, the history of an ideaBy Duneier, Mitchell author.
"By expertly resurrecting the history of the ghetto from Venice to the present, Duneier's Ghetto provides a remarkable new understanding of an age-old concept. He concludes that if we are to understand today's ghettos--including the recent events in Ferguson--the Jewish and black ghettos of the past should not be forgotten." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

The Fire This Time : A New Generation Speaks about Race

The fire this time : a new generation speaks about raceBy Ward, Jesmyn
"A groundbreaking anthology on race in America bringing together the most important voices of a new generation"...Baldwin's 'fire next time' is now upon us, and it needs to be talked about." (Publisher)
View in catalog

Blood at the Root : A Racial Cleansing in America

Blood at the root : a racial cleansing in AmericaBy Phillips, Patrick, 1970- author.
"A gripping tale of racial cleansing in Forsyth County, Georgia, and a harrowing testament to the deep roots of racial violence in America." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

The Long Game : How Obama Defied Washington and Redefined America's Role in the World

The long game : how Obama defied Washington and redefined America's role in the worldBy Chollet, Derek H, author.
"Describes how President Obama has changed and improved the course of American foreign policy through the way he approached difficult global challenges including the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, turbulence in Syria and the rise of ISIS." Pub annotation
View in catalog

National Book Awards 2016 Finalists in Nonfiction (5 items)

Strangers in their own land : anger and mourning on the American rightBy Hochschild, Arlie Russell, 1940- author.
In Strangers in Their Own Land, the renowned sociologist Arlie Hochschild embarks on a thought-provoking journey from her liberal hometown of Berkeley, California, deep into the heart of the bayou of Lake Charles, Louisiana, a stronghold of the conservative Right.
View in catalog

National Book Awards 2016 Finalists in Fiction (5 items)

National Book Awards 2016 Finalists in Fiction (5 items)

Another Brooklyn

Another Brooklyn : a novelBy Woodson, Jacqueline
"Another Brooklyn is heartbreaking and restorative, a gorgeous paean to all we must leave behind on the path to becoming ourselves." --Tracy K. Smith "Jacqueline Woodson sings memory. Her words like summer lightning get caught in my throat...a wild sea pausing in the wind." -Sister Sonia Sanchez
View in catalog

Kill 'em and Leave : Searching for James Brown and the American Soul

Kill 'em and leave : searching for James Brown and the American soulBy McBride, James, 1957-
"National Book Award winner James McBride goes in search of the "real" James Brown--and his surprising journey illuminates the ways in which our cultured heritage has been shaped by Brown's legacy."-Jacket
View in catalog

The Vegetarian

The vegetarian : a novelBy Han, Kang, 1970-
"This is a horror story in its depiction of the unknowability of others—of the sudden feeling that you've never actually known someone close to you. It's also a decidedly literary story for its exploration of despair, inner unrest, and the pain of coming to understand yourself." -Publishers Weekly
View in catalog

This Must Be the Place

This must be the placeBy O'Farrell, Maggie, 1972- author.
"A magical story...When it ends, the reader is stunned and grateful." -Publishers Weekly
View in catalog

Invisible Man, Got the Whole World Watching : A Young Black Man's Education

Invisible man, got the whole world watching : a young black man's educationBy Smith, Mychal Denzel, author.
"Smith cautiously sketches a useful blueprint for radical and intersectional politics in a country where a black child can grow up to be president but where living while black is still dangerous." -Kirkus Review
View in catalog

Grace : a novel

Grace : a novelBy Deón, Natashia, author.
The dual stories of a mother, a runaway plantation slave and the child she never knew are woven through the historic events of the mid-19th century, including the Civil War and the Emancipation Proclamation. (PUB)
View in catalog

Angels of Detroit

Angels of Detroit : a novelBy Hebert, Christopher, author.
"Christopher Hebert gets Detroit right in this beautifully made book.....between last hope and postapocalyptic nightmare." -Jaimy Gordon, author of Lord of Misrule
View in catalog

Difret

Janis : Little Girl Blue

White Rage : The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide

White rage : the unspoken truth of our racial divideBy Anderson, Carol (Carol Elaine)
Carolyn Anderson says "it is time to rethink America" in her insightful, challenging new book, which expands on her Washington Post article " "Ferguson isn't about black rage against cops. It's white rage against progress."
View in catalog