Susan’s Recommendations

Locking Up Our Own: Crime and Punishment in Black America

Locking up our own : crime and punishment in black AmericaBy Forman, James, 1967- author.
“I think of it as a 239-page rebuttal to the claim that black people and their elected leaders only care about crime when it’s [committed by] the police,”... “If there’s one thing that I hope the book does, it’s demolish that lie.” -James Forman, Jr., in an interview with The Guardian, April 29, 2017
View in catalog

Borne

BorneBy VanderMeer, Jeff author.
"Named one of the most anticipated books of 2017 by The New York Times, The Huffington Post, Book Riot, Chicago Reader, The Week, and Publishers Weekly.[publisher annotation]
View in catalog

Miranda and Caliban

Miranda and CalibanBy Carey, Jacqueline, 1964- author.
"Miranda and Caliban is bestselling fantasy author Jacqueline Carey’s gorgeous retelling of The Tempest. With hypnotic prose and a wild imagination, Carey explores the themes of twisted love and unchecked power that lie at the heart of Shakespeare’s masterpiece, while serving up a fresh take on the play's iconic characters." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

Imagine Wanting Only This

Imagine wanting only thisBy Radtke, Kristen
"Riveting and glorious. A book of sorrow filtered through intellect; in Kristen Radtke's hands, nonfiction becomes poetry. A tremendous achievement." -Tom Hart, author of Rosalie's Lightning
View in catalog

The Witch of Painted Sorrows

The witch of painted sorrows : a novelBy Rose, M. J., 1953-
"Effortlessly absorbing and richly imagined, with sumptuous detail and spellbinding suspense, The Witch of Painted Sorrows conjures the brilliance and intrigue of Belle Epoque Paris and illuminates the fine line between explosive passion and complete ruination."-jacket
View in catalog

A Colony in a Nation

A colony in a nationBy Hayes, Christopher L.,
"A Colony in a Nation is a highly original analysis of America's arbitrary and erratic criminal justice system. Indeed, by Hayes's lights, the system is not erratic at all--it treats one group of Americans as citizens and another as the colonized. This is an essential and groundbreaking text in the effort to understand how American criminal justice went to badly awry." -Ta-Nehisi Coates, from the jacket
View in catalog

Same Family, Different Colors : Confronting Colorism in America's Diverse Families

Same family, different colors : confronting colorism in America's diverse familiesBy Tharps, Lori L.
"...the first book on colorism to take us inside African American, Latino, Asian, and interracial families as they speak candidly about how the politics of skin color shape their family dynamics and lives. Lori Tharp explores this taboo and urgent subject with courage, vision, and great sensitivity." -Michael Eric Dyson (from the cover)
View in catalog

White Tears

White tearsBy Kunzru, Hari, 1969-
"An indelible portrait of obsession, music, insanity, and race that draws us into a dark underworld of blues record collecting, haunted by the ghosts of a violent past." (Publisher note, book jacket)
View in catalog

Comic Books and American Cultural History

Comic books and American cultural history : an anthologyBy Pustz, Matthew (EDT)
"A highly original collection of essays, demonstrating how comic books can be used as primary sources in the teaching and understanding of American history." -NBN
View in catalog

Christodora

Christodora : a novelBy Murphy, Tim, author.
"Murphy has written The Bonfire of the Vanities for the age of AIDS, using the same reportorial skills as Tom Wolfe to re-create the changing decades, complete with a pitch-perfect deployment of period detail...A powerful evocation." -Publishers Weekly, from the jacket... Read more
View in catalog

The Summer Before the War

The summer before the war : a novelBy Simonson, Helen
"This novel is just the ticket for fans of Simonson's debut, Major Pettigrew's Last Stand, and for any reader who enjoys leisurely fiction steeped in the British past." (jacket-Booklist review) "A bright confection of a book morphs into a story of dignity and backbone.....This book is beautifully plotted and morally astute." (jacket-Kirkus review)
View in catalog

Age of Anger : A History of the Present

Age of anger : a history of the presentBy Mishra, Pankaj
" Making startling connections and comparisons, Age of Anger is a book of immense urgency and profound argument. It is a history of our present predicament unlike any other". -from the jacket
View in catalog

The Dark Flood Rises

The dark flood risesBy Drabble, Margaret, 1939-
"A heartfelt rumination on the process of ageing and [the] inevitability of death.....In this novel, the dark flood is death itself, but trust Margaret Drabble to take even the most worrisome of topics and make it witty, relatable and, most importantly, readable". -Rebecca Monks, from the jacket
View in catalog

Celine

Celine : a novel [sound recording]By Heller, Peter, 1959-
"From the bestselling author of The Dog Stars and The Painter, a luminous, masterly novel of suspense--the story of Celine, an elegant, aristocratic private eye who specializes in reuniting families as she tries to make amends for a loss in her own past."--jacket note
View in catalog

Orphan X

Orphan XBy Hurwitz, Gregg Andrew
"Orphan X blows the doors off most thrillers I've read and catapults the readers on a cat-and-mouse chase that feels like a missile launch." -David Baldacci
View in catalog

The Firebrand and the First Lady : Portrait of a Friendship : Pauli Murray, Eleanor Roosevelt, and the Struggle for Social Justice

The firebrand and the First Lady : portrait of a friendship : Pauli Murray, Eleanor Roosevelt, and the struggle for social justiceBy Bell-Scott, Patricia
An important, groundbreaking book--two decades in work--that tells the story of the unlikely but history-changing twenty-eight-year bond forged between Pauli Murray (granddaughter of a mulatto slave, who, against all odds, as a lesbian black woman, became a lawyer, civil rights pioneer, Episcopal priest, poet, and activist) and Eleanor Roosevelt (First Lady of the United States from 1933 to 1948 and human rights internationalist) that critically ... Read more
View in catalog

Just Another Jihadi Jane

Just another Jihadi JaneBy Khair, Tabish,
"Tabish Khair's novel brilliantly engages prejudices and preconceptions and turns them upside down. As did All Quiet on the Western Front, it reminds a new generation that heroism and sacrifice are not limited to one side in a conflict, and that the first victims of a murderous regime are those who live within it." [Jacket]
View in catalog

The Invisible Guardian

The invisible guardian : a novelBy Redondo, Dolores, 1969-
"Myth and reality blend and blur in this sophisticated and razor-sharp thriller. A gritty, fascinating, and compelling story." (Steve Berry, from the cover)
View in catalog

Angel Catbird (2 items)

Angel Catbird By Atwood, Margaret
"A series of all-ages graphic novels about a superhero who is part-bird, part-cat, and suffers an identity crisis because of his conflicting predator/prey status." (Comicsalliance) "A real trip...Half-cat, half-bird, half pulp adventure, and half environmental treatise." (Polygon)
View in catalog

Plant Craft : 30 Projects That Add Natural Style to Your Home

Plant craft : 30 projects that add natural style to your homeBy Atkinson, Caitlin,
Plant Craft features 30 projects inspired by the natural world and made out of live plants, cut flowers, foraged branches, and more. (PUB)
View in catalog

NEW PERSPECTIVES ON RACISM (3 items)

Writings on the wall : searching for a new equality beyond black and whiteBy Abdul-Jabbar, Kareem, 1947-
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar has become a lauded observer of culture and society, a New York Times bestselling author, and a regular contributor to The Washington Post, TIME magazine and TIME.com.He now brings that keen insight to the fore in Writings on the Wall: Searching for a New Equality Beyond Black and White, his most incisive and important work of non-fiction in years.... Read more
View in catalog

Behold the Dreamers

Behold the dreamers : a novelBy Mbue, Imbolo
"For fans of Americanah and The Lowland comes a debut novel about an immigrant couple striving to get ahead as the Great Recession hits home. With profound empathy, keen insight, and sly wit, Imbolo Mbue has written a compulsively readable story about marriage, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

Ghetto : The Invention of a Place, The History of an Idea

Ghetto : the invention of a place, the history of an ideaBy Duneier, Mitchell author.
"By expertly resurrecting the history of the ghetto from Venice to the present, Duneier's Ghetto provides a remarkable new understanding of an age-old concept. He concludes that if we are to understand today's ghettos--including the recent events in Ferguson--the Jewish and black ghettos of the past should not be forgotten." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

The Fire This Time : A New Generation Speaks about Race

The fire this time : a new generation speaks about raceBy Ward, Jesmyn
"A groundbreaking anthology on race in America bringing together the most important voices of a new generation"...Baldwin's 'fire next time' is now upon us, and it needs to be talked about." (Publisher)
View in catalog

The Mortifications : A Novel

The mortifications : a novelBy Palacio, Derek, 1982-
"Derek Palacio's stunning, mythic novel marks the arrival of a fresh voice and a new chapter in the history of 21st century Cuban-American literature. Breathtaking, soulful, and profound, The Mortifications is an intoxicating family saga and a timely, urgent expression of longing for one's true homeland." PUB
View in catalog

Award Winners & Bestsellers

Nobel Prize
2015 Prize in Literature
Svetlana Alexievich

National Book Award

2015 Prize for Fiction
Fortune Smiles
by Adam Johnson

2015 Prize for Nonfiction
Between the World and Me
by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Newbery Medal
2016 award
Last Stop on Market Street

by Matt de la Peña

Caldecott Medal
2016 award
Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear
b
y Lindsay Mattick, illustrated by Sophie Blackall

Printz Award

2016 award
Bone Gap

by Laura Ruby

New York Times Fiction Bestsellers (top 5 combined print & e-book sales)
The Last Mile
, by David Baldacci
The Obsession
, by Nora Roberts
Stuck-up Suit, by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward
Bounty, by Kristen Ashley
The Girl on the Train
, by Paula Hawkins
 

New York Times Nonfiction Bestsellers (top 5 combined print & e-book sale)
The Rainbow Comes and Goes, by Anderson Cooper and Gloria Vanderbilt
The Sleep Revolution, by Arianna Huffington
When Breath Becomes Air
, by Paul Kalanithi
Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli Pirates
, by Brian Kilmeade and Don Yaegar
Alexander Hamilton
, by Ron Chernow

 

More Award Winners & Bestsellers

Following is a list of award-winning and bestselling materials from a variety of sources. Links will take you to an external page that will open in a new window. If YDL does not have an item you are interested in, please submit a Materials Suggestion to us.

Academy Awards

American Booksellers Association National Indie Bestsellers

Billboard Top 100 songs

Caldecott Medal

Coretta Scott King Award

New York Times Bestsellers

Newbery Medal

Printz Award