Susan’s Recommendations

The Invisible Guardian

The invisible guardian : a novelBy Redondo, Dolores, 1969-
"Myth and reality blend and blur in this sophisticated and razor-sharp thriller. A gritty, fascinating, and compelling story." (Steve Berry, from the cover)
View in catalog

Angel Catbird (2 items)

Angel Catbird By Atwood, Margaret
"A series of all-ages graphic novels about a superhero who is part-bird, part-cat, and suffers an identity crisis because of his conflicting predator/prey status." (Comicsalliance) "A real trip...Half-cat, half-bird, half pulp adventure, and half environmental treatise." (Polygon)
View in catalog

Plant Craft : 30 Projects That Add Natural Style to Your Home

Plant craft : 30 projects that add natural style to your homeBy Atkinson, Caitlin,
Plant Craft features 30 projects inspired by the natural world and made out of live plants, cut flowers, foraged branches, and more. (PUB)
View in catalog

NEW PERSPECTIVES ON RACISM (3 items)

Writings on the wall : searching for a new equality beyond black and whiteBy Abdul-Jabbar, Kareem, 1947-
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar has become a lauded observer of culture and society, a New York Times bestselling author, and a regular contributor to The Washington Post, TIME magazine and TIME.com.He now brings that keen insight to the fore in Writings on the Wall: Searching for a New Equality Beyond Black and White, his most incisive and important work of non-fiction in years.... Read more
View in catalog

Behold the Dreamers

Behold the dreamers : a novelBy Mbue, Imbolo
"For fans of Americanah and The Lowland comes a debut novel about an immigrant couple striving to get ahead as the Great Recession hits home. With profound empathy, keen insight, and sly wit, Imbolo Mbue has written a compulsively readable story about marriage, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

Ghetto : The Invention of a Place, The History of an Idea

Ghetto : the invention of a place, the history of an ideaBy Duneier, Mitchell author.
"By expertly resurrecting the history of the ghetto from Venice to the present, Duneier's Ghetto provides a remarkable new understanding of an age-old concept. He concludes that if we are to understand today's ghettos--including the recent events in Ferguson--the Jewish and black ghettos of the past should not be forgotten." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

The Fire This Time : A New Generation Speaks about Race

The fire this time : a new generation speaks about raceBy Ward, Jesmyn
"A groundbreaking anthology on race in America bringing together the most important voices of a new generation"...Baldwin's 'fire next time' is now upon us, and it needs to be talked about." (Publisher)
View in catalog

The Mortifications : A Novel

The mortifications : a novelBy Palacio, Derek, 1982-
"Derek Palacio's stunning, mythic novel marks the arrival of a fresh voice and a new chapter in the history of 21st century Cuban-American literature. Breathtaking, soulful, and profound, The Mortifications is an intoxicating family saga and a timely, urgent expression of longing for one's true homeland." PUB
View in catalog

Same Family, Different Colors : Confronting Colorism in America's Diverse Families

Same family, different colors : confronting colorism in America's diverse familiesBy Tharps, Lori L.
"...the first book on colorism to take us inside African American, Latino, Asian, and interracial families as they speak candidly about how the politics of skin color shape their family dynamics and lives. Lori Tharp explores this taboo and urgent subject with courage, vision, and great sensitivity." -Michael Eric Dyson (from the cover)
View in catalog

Comic Books and American Cultural History

Comic books and American cultural history : an anthologyBy Pustz, Matthew (EDT)
"A highly original collection of essays, demonstrating how comic books can be used as primary sources in the teaching and understanding of American history." -NBN
View in catalog

Blood at the Root : A Racial Cleansing in America

Blood at the root : a racial cleansing in AmericaBy Phillips, Patrick, 1970- author.
"A gripping tale of racial cleansing in Forsyth County, Georgia, and a harrowing testament to the deep roots of racial violence in America." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

The Long Game : How Obama Defied Washington and Redefined America's Role in the World

The long game : how Obama defied Washington and redefined America's role in the worldBy Chollet, Derek H, author.
"Describes how President Obama has changed and improved the course of American foreign policy through the way he approached difficult global challenges including the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, turbulence in Syria and the rise of ISIS." Pub annotation
View in catalog

National Book Awards 2016 Finalists in Nonfiction (5 items)

Strangers in their own land : anger and mourning on the American rightBy Hochschild, Arlie Russell, 1940- author.
In Strangers in Their Own Land, the renowned sociologist Arlie Hochschild embarks on a thought-provoking journey from her liberal hometown of Berkeley, California, deep into the heart of the bayou of Lake Charles, Louisiana, a stronghold of the conservative Right.
View in catalog

National Book Awards 2016 Finalists in Fiction (5 items)

National Book Awards 2016 Finalists in Fiction (5 items)

Another Brooklyn

Another Brooklyn : a novelBy Woodson, Jacqueline
"Another Brooklyn is heartbreaking and restorative, a gorgeous paean to all we must leave behind on the path to becoming ourselves." --Tracy K. Smith "Jacqueline Woodson sings memory. Her words like summer lightning get caught in my throat...a wild sea pausing in the wind." -Sister Sonia Sanchez
View in catalog

Kill 'em and Leave : Searching for James Brown and the American Soul

Kill 'em and leave : searching for James Brown and the American soulBy McBride, James, 1957-
"National Book Award winner James McBride goes in search of the "real" James Brown--and his surprising journey illuminates the ways in which our cultured heritage has been shaped by Brown's legacy."-Jacket
View in catalog

The Vegetarian

The vegetarian : a novelBy Han, Kang, 1970-
"This is a horror story in its depiction of the unknowability of others—of the sudden feeling that you've never actually known someone close to you. It's also a decidedly literary story for its exploration of despair, inner unrest, and the pain of coming to understand yourself." -Publishers Weekly
View in catalog

This Must Be the Place

This must be the placeBy O'Farrell, Maggie, 1972- author.
"A magical story...When it ends, the reader is stunned and grateful." -Publishers Weekly
View in catalog

Invisible Man, Got the Whole World Watching : A Young Black Man's Education

Invisible man, got the whole world watching : a young black man's educationBy Smith, Mychal Denzel, author.
"Smith cautiously sketches a useful blueprint for radical and intersectional politics in a country where a black child can grow up to be president but where living while black is still dangerous." -Kirkus Review
View in catalog

Grace : a novel

Grace : a novelBy Deón, Natashia, author.
The dual stories of a mother, a runaway plantation slave and the child she never knew are woven through the historic events of the mid-19th century, including the Civil War and the Emancipation Proclamation. (PUB)
View in catalog

Angels of Detroit

Angels of Detroit : a novelBy Hebert, Christopher, author.
"Christopher Hebert gets Detroit right in this beautifully made book.....between last hope and postapocalyptic nightmare." -Jaimy Gordon, author of Lord of Misrule
View in catalog

Difret

Janis : Little Girl Blue

White Rage : The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide

White rage : the unspoken truth of our racial divideBy Anderson, Carol (Carol Elaine)
Carolyn Anderson says "it is time to rethink America" in her insightful, challenging new book, which expands on her Washington Post article " "Ferguson isn't about black rage against cops. It's white rage against progress."
View in catalog

Award Winners & Bestsellers

Nobel Prize
2015 Prize in Literature
Svetlana Alexievich

National Book Award

2015 Prize for Fiction
Fortune Smiles
by Adam Johnson

2015 Prize for Nonfiction
Between the World and Me
by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Newbery Medal
2016 award
Last Stop on Market Street

by Matt de la Peña

Caldecott Medal
2016 award
Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear
b
y Lindsay Mattick, illustrated by Sophie Blackall

Printz Award

2016 award
Bone Gap

by Laura Ruby

New York Times Fiction Bestsellers (top 5 combined print & e-book sales)
The Last Mile
, by David Baldacci
The Obsession
, by Nora Roberts
Stuck-up Suit, by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward
Bounty, by Kristen Ashley
The Girl on the Train
, by Paula Hawkins
 

New York Times Nonfiction Bestsellers (top 5 combined print & e-book sale)
The Rainbow Comes and Goes, by Anderson Cooper and Gloria Vanderbilt
The Sleep Revolution, by Arianna Huffington
When Breath Becomes Air
, by Paul Kalanithi
Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli Pirates
, by Brian Kilmeade and Don Yaegar
Alexander Hamilton
, by Ron Chernow

 

More Award Winners & Bestsellers

Following is a list of award-winning and bestselling materials from a variety of sources. Links will take you to an external page that will open in a new window. If YDL does not have an item you are interested in, please submit a Materials Suggestion to us.

Academy Awards

American Booksellers Association National Indie Bestsellers

Billboard Top 100 songs

Caldecott Medal

Coretta Scott King Award

New York Times Bestsellers

Newbery Medal

Printz Award